## Two Rivers Watershed District



In Roseau, Kittson, & Marshall Counties

Board of Managers: President-Rick Sikorski Vice President-Roger Anderson, Secretary-Daryl Klegstad, Treasurer-Gerald Olsonawski, Manager-Bruce Anderson, Manager-Scott Klein, Manager-vacant Staff: Dan Money, District Administrator; Tyler Coffield, Head Technician

410 5th Street S., Suite 112, Hallock, MN 56728 - Phone (218) 843-3333 - Email: dan.money@tworiverswd.com - Website: www.tworiverswd.com

January 18, 2023

## NOTICE OF AVAILABILITY OF ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT WORKSHEET FOR KLONDIKE CLEAN WATER RETENTION PROJECT

The Two Rivers Watershed District has completed an Environmental Assessment Worksheet (EAW) regarding its "Klondike Clean Water Retention Project" and is accepting public comments on the EAW until February 23, 2023.

The Klondike Clean Water Retention Project (KCWRP) is a multi-purpose public project providing both flood damage reduction and natural resources enhancement components. Located in Roseau and Kittson Counties and within the Two Rivers and Red River watersheds, the project is proposed to reduce flooding, improve water quality, improve aquatic habitat, protect and enhance a prairie rich fen, and provide an adequate drainage outlet primarily for lateral 1 of State Ditch 95 and secondarily for State Ditch 72.

The EAW provides detailed information regarding the construction of this project and its potential effects on surface water, groundwater, ecosystems, and fish and wildlife habitats. The EAW and supporting documents can be viewed on the District's website at <a href="http://www.tworiverswd.com/Klondike.html">http://www.tworiverswd.com/Klondike.html</a>. They can also be obtained by calling the District office at 218-843-3333.

Written comments will be accepted until 4:00 p.m. on February 23, 2023. These can be dropped off or mailed to the following address:

Two Rivers Watershed District 410 South 5<sup>th</sup> St., Suite 112 Hallock, MN 56728

The Two Rivers Watershed District is a local unit of government located within portions of Roseau, Kittson, and Marshal Counties. It is governed by a 7 member Board of Managers each appointed by respective County Commissions. It's primary focus is to carry out water management and drainage activities as directed under MN statutes.

